Mountains Will Move

So Jesus said to them, “Because of your unbelief; for assuredly, I say to you, if you have faith as a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you.  Matthew 17:20 (NKJV)

What mountains do you have in your own life? What seemingly impossible climb are you experiencing that seems to have no end? How can you be sure you will reach the other side?

I know that I have looked at my mountains and thought “there is just no way.” Or I would get half way up and then think there was a better path to go around and right back to the bottom I go looking for an easier way. I am sure that this is a common occurrence in life for many Christians. However, Jesus shows us in this verse that we have, within us, the capability to overcome anything that comes our way. That mountain was not put there by accident.

God does not want us to suffer and not prosper in life. In fact, Jeremiah tells us that He has a plan for each and every one of us. There are no exceptions. God knows what mountain you will face before you ever face it and He already has a plan for you to overcome and grow spiritually. After all, Christian growth is the journey that we all are on.

The mustard seed, is the smallest of all seeds so it is no wonder that Jesus used it as an example. Once this seed is planted, it grows into one of the largest herbs. That small little seed must endure the elements in order to grow and actually uses those elements to grow. Just like the mustard seed, we too have to have a beginning, but once properly nourished, can grow and expand into something wonderful. We too have to grow our faith and then we can overcome anything in our path.

Perhaps your mountain is pride, addiction, a struggling marriage, or even growing a ministry. Whatever the case, God has given each of us the tools necessary to overcome. But faith does not come easy or is often free. We have to endure those mountains in order for our faith to grow.

Remember that when Jesus healed, it was faith that healed them. He did not heal them and then ask for faith. No! Faith had to be applied first in order for the healing to take place. The walls of Jericho fell because of faith and Daniel did not get eaten by the lions because of faith. Here’s a huge mountain for you–the furnace that was heated seven times hotter than usual. It took a real leap of faith to walk through those doors after seeing the guards die just from the heat at the door.

Faith can move mountains in your life but, like anything else in you, it has to be exercised in order to grow strong. Those mountains you face today will one day end up behind you and then you can look back over your journey and see God’s hand in your life. My God is my guide through those mountains. He leads me on the right path to overcome them but it is ultimately my faith in God that gets me there. It is not I overcoming the mountain but rather God helping me to overcome it.

The Bible is full of examples of great faith. Do you think that is a coincidence? How are you saved? Through grace by faith. That is your beginning. What you do with it from there will ultimately determine how your journey will end. God calls each of us into a faithful relationship with Him. The Worthy Lamb paid a debt I could never pay and He did it all out of love for me. He did not do it so that I would have to suffer through life–He did it so that I could HAVE life.

Dear Jesus, I pray that You would have Your hand on each and every person that reads this today. I pray that You help them to increase their faith so that the healing may begin. I know, Jesus, that You did not do all of this for nothing. You love each and every one of us and want us to be happy and prosperous–to have hope. I ask that You continue to work in my life to overcome the huge mountains I have in front of me. I know that You will help to guide each of us through our mountains to strengthen our stamina for the journey. I love you Jesus. Thank You for paying a debt I could never have paid. May we all continue to give You all the glory in all that we accomplish. Amen.

Go climb your mountain!!

3 thoughts on “Mountains Will Move”

Leave a Reply

